Zoom Video Communications’ $14.7 Billion Acquisition of Five9

Cooley LLP advised Zoom Video Communications, while Latham & Watkins LLP represented Five9 on the deal.

Zoom Video Communications has entered into a definitive agreement to acquire Five9, a leading provider of the intelligent cloud contact center, announced an all-stock transaction valued at approximately $14.7 billion.

Combining Five9’s contact center as a service solution with Zoom’s broad communications platform will transform how businesses connect with their customers, building the customer engagement platform of the future. The acquisition is expected to help enhance Zoom’s presence with enterprise customers and allow it to accelerate its long-term growth opportunity by adding the $24 billion contact center market.

Founded in 2011, Zoom (NASDAQ: ZM) is headquartered in San Jose, California. The company provides a video-first communications platform in the Americas, the Asia Pacific, Europe, the Middle East, and Africa.

Jamie Leigh (Picture), Ben Beerle, Anne Lieberman and Jon Avina led the Cooley team advising Zoom on the transaction. Additional assistance was provided by Brent Nesbitt, Sangitha Palaniappa, Daniel Han, Calise Cheng, Howard Morse, Megan Browdie, Barbara Mirza, Travis Leblanc, TJ Graham, Jonathan Rivinus, Michael Basile, Joshua Mates, Jason Savich, Todd Gluth, Rob McDowell, Patrick Van Eecke, Gian-Michele Marca, J.G. Harrington, Alexander Israel, Stella Sarma, Karen Tsai, Christine Graham, Daniel Herrmann, Kristopher Kleiner, Kevin Rivers, Ross Eberly, Joshua Elefant, Timothy Nguyen, Julia Boesch, Henry Wendel, Emily Harrison, Julia Brinton, Mor Agam, Claire Blakey, Nicollette Moser, Clara Somee Choi, Penelope Hale, Matteo Negro, Norita Mengu and Grace Hunter.

Latham & Watkins LLP represented Five9 in the transaction with a corporate deal team led by Bay Area partners Tad Freese and Mark Bekheit, with associates Owen Alexander, Lauren Lefcoe, Tara Nair, and Melinda Vanderburg. Advice was also provided on tax matters by Bay Area partner Grace Lee, with associate Jacob Meninga; on benefits and compensation matters by Bay Area partner Ashley Wagner, with associate James Robinson; on antitrust matters by Washington, D.C. partner Amanda Reeves and Bay Area partner Kelly Smith Fayne, with associates Joy Dineo and Sebastian Sohn; on intellectual property matters by Bay Area partner Anthony Klein, with associate Amy Dippolito; on finance matters by New York partner Reza Mojtabaee-Zamani, with associate Jack Neff; on data privacy matters by Bay Area counsel Robert Blamires, with associate Samantha Maerz-Boening; on FCPA and anticorruption matters by Washington, D.C. partner Erin Brown Jones; and on export controls matters by associates C.J. Rydberg and Andrew Galdes.

Involved fees earner: Mor Agam – Cooley LLP; Jon Avina – Cooley LLP; Michael Basile – Cooley LLP; Ben Beerle – Cooley LLP; Claire Blakey – Cooley LLP; Julia Boesch – Cooley LLP; Julia Brinton – Cooley LLP; Megan Browdie – Cooley LLP; Calise Cheng – Cooley LLP; Ross Eberly – Cooley LLP; Joshua Elefant – Cooley LLP; Todd Gluth – Cooley LLP; TJ Graham – Cooley LLP; Christine Graham – Cooley LLP; Penelope Hale – Cooley LLP; Daniel Han – Cooley LLP; J.G. Harrington – Cooley LLP; Emily Harrison – Cooley LLP; Daniel Herrmann – Cooley LLP; Grace Hunter – Cooley LLP; Alexander Israel – Cooley LLP; Kristopher Kleiner – Cooley LLP; Travis Leblanc – Cooley LLP; Jamie Leigh – Cooley LLP; Anne Lieberman – Cooley LLP; Gian-Michele Marca – Cooley LLP; Joshua Mates – Cooley LLP; Robert McDowell – Cooley LLP; Norita Mengu – Cooley LLP; Barbara Mirza – Cooley LLP; Howard Morse – Cooley LLP; Nicollette Moser – Cooley LLP; Matteo Negro – Cooley LLP; Brent Nesbitt – Cooley LLP; Timothy Nguyen – Cooley LLP; Sangitha Palaniappa – Cooley LLP; Kevin Rivers – Cooley LLP; Jonathan Rivinus – Cooley LLP; Stella Sarma – Cooley LLP; Jason Savich – Cooley LLP; Clara Somee Choi – Cooley LLP; Karen Tsai – Cooley LLP; Patrick Van Eecke – Cooley LLP; Henry Wendel – Cooley LLP; Owen Alexander – Latham & Watkins; Mark Bekheit – Latham & Watkins; Robert Blamires – Latham & Watkins; Erin Brown Jones – Latham & Watkins; Joy Dineo – Latham & Watkins; Amy Elizabeth Dippolito – Latham & Watkins; Tad Freese – Latham & Watkins; Andrew Galdes – Latham & Watkins; Anthony Klein – Latham & Watkins; Grace Lee – Latham & Watkins; Lauren Lefcoe – Latham & Watkins; Samantha Maerz-Boening – Latham & Watkins; Jake Meninga – Latham & Watkins; Reza Mojtabaee-Zamani – Latham & Watkins; Tara Nair – Latham & Watkins; Jack Neff – Latham & Watkins; Amanda Reeves – Latham & Watkins; James Robinson – Latham & Watkins; Christopher John Rydberg – Latham & Watkins; Kelly Smith Fayne – Latham & Watkins; Sebastian Sohn – Latham & Watkins; Melinda Vanderburg – Latham & Watkins; Ashley Wagner – Latham & Watkins;

Law Firms: Cooley LLP; Latham & Watkins;

Clients: Five9 Inc; Zoom Video Communications;

Author: Martina Bellini