In re: EpiPen Direct Purchaser Litigation

Defendants were assisted by Williams & Connolly LLP, Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP, Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan, LLP, Spencer Fane LLP, Hogan Lovells US LLP, Stinson LLP and Alston & Bird. The Plaintiffs were defended by Berger Montague Pc, Garwin Gerstein & Fisher LLP, Smith Segura & Raphael, LLP, Christopher M. First, Silver, Golub & Teitell, Heim, Payne & Chorush LLP, Faruqi & Faruqi, LLP, Smith Segura Raphael & Leger, LLP and Odom & Des Roches, LLC.

Judge Eric Tostrud of the District of Minnesota allowed a putative direct purchaser class to go forward with its case against Mylan and a group of Pharmacy Benefit Managers (“PBMs”) for engaging in an alleged kickback and bribery scheme that resulted in inflated prices for EpiPens.  The EpiPen is an auto-injector device that allows patients to quickly self-administer the drug epinephrine through a spring-loaded needle.  From at least 2011 to 2017, Mylan – which markets and distributes EpiPens – held a near-total market share for epinephrine auto-injectors in the United States. 

Plaintiffs were members of ERISA-governed health plans.  They alleged that the rebates and fees that Express Scripts and other pharmacy benefit managers (“PBMs”) negotiated with Mylan, the manufacturer of EpiPen, caused health plan members to pay too much for EpiPen prescriptions. 

Plaintiffs brought suit in the federal district court in Minnesota, alleging that the PBMs owed fiduciary duties under ERISA to plan participants and that by negotiating the rebates and fees for EpiPen, Express Scripts, and other PBMs breached those fiduciary duties.  Plaintiffs sought to certify a nationwide class of hundreds of thousands of participants in ERISA plans who had paid out-of-pocket for an EpiPen from January 1, 2007, through the present.

The Court denied Mylan and the PBM defendants’ motions to dismiss and held that the plaintiffs stated claims for violations of the Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations Act (“RICO”) and Section 2 of the Sherman Antitrust Act.  The plaintiffs will now be able to proceed with discovery.      

Quinn Emanuel LLP assisted Express Scripts and Medco Health Solutions Inc. with a team including Carolyn L. Hart, Eric Christopher Lyttle (Picture), Jonathan Gordon Cooper, Michael John Lyle. Spencer Fane LLP worked alongside Quinn Emanuel with a team comprised Donald Heeman,  Jessica Nelson and Randi Winter.

Williams & Connolly LLP, alongside Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP, assisted Caremark LLC, CaremarkPCS Health LLC, Caremark Rx LLC and CVS Health Corporation with a team comprising Daniel M. Dockery and Enu A. Mainigi. The Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP team included Isaac Hall and John W. Ursu.

Hogan Lovells US LLP represented Mylan Inc. and Mylan Specialty L.P. with a team led by Adam Levin and including Carolyn DeLone, Charles A. Loughlin, Christine A. Sifferman, David M. Foster, Justin Bernick, Katherine Booth Wellington, Kathryn Marshall Ali and Peter Walsh. 

Stinson LLP and Alston & Bird assisted Optum Inc, OptumRX Inc., OptumRx Holdings, LLC, United Healthcare Services Inc. and United Health Group Incorporated. The Stinson team included Andrew Glasnovich and Kadee Jo Anderson. The Alston & Bird team comprised Bradley Harder, Brian David Boone, David Andrew Hatchett and Elizabeth Broadway Brown. 

Berger Montague Pc, alongside Garwin Gerstein & Fisher LLP, Christopher M. First, Smith Segura & Raphael, LLP, Silver, Golub & Teitell, Heim, Payne & Chorush LLP and Faruqi & Faruqi, LLP, acted for Dakota Drug, Inc..The Berger Montague team included Andrew Curley, Aurelia Chaudhury, David Sorensen and Michelle Drake. The Garwin Gerstein & Fisher team was led by Bruce Gerstein. The Smith Segura & Raphael team included David C Raphael and Susan Segura. The Silver, Golub & Teitell team was led by David S. Golub and Steven Bloch. The  Heim, Payne & Chorush included Eric Enger and Russell Chorush. The Faruqi & Faruqi team comprised Joseph Lukens and Peter Kohn. 

The aforementioned law firms acted together with Odom & Des Roches, LLC in defense of Rochester Drug Co-Operative, Inc.. The Odom & Des Roches team included Amanda Leah Hass, Andrew Kelly, Chris Letter, Christopher Stow-Serge, Dan Chiorean, Stuart Des Roches and Thomas Maas. 

Involved fees earner: Brian Boone – Alston & Bird LLP; Elizabeth Brown – Alston & Bird LLP; Bradley Harder – Alston & Bird LLP; Andrew Hatchett – Alston & Bird LLP; Aurelia Chaudhury – Berger Montague Pc; Andrew Curley – Berger Montague Pc; Michelle Drake – Berger Montague Pc; David Sorensen – Berger Montague Pc; Isaac Hall – Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP; John Ursu – Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP; Peter Kohn – Faruqi & Faruqi LLP; Joseph Lukens – Faruqi & Faruqi LLP; Bruce Gerstein – Garwin Gerstein & Fisher LLP; Eric Enger – Heim, Payne & Chorush LLP; Kathryn Ali – Hogan Lovells; Justin Bernick – Hogan Lovells; Carolyn DeLone – Hogan Lovells; David Foster – Hogan Lovells; Adam Levin – Hogan Lovells; Chuck Loughlin – Hogan Lovells; Christine Sifferman – Hogan Lovells; Peter Walsh – Hogan Lovells; Katie Wellington – Hogan Lovells; Jonathan Cooper – Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan; Carolyn Hart – Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan; Michael Lyle – Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan; Eric Lyttle – Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan; David Golub – Silver, Golub & Teitell; David Raphael Jr – Smith Segura & Raphael, LLP; Donald Heeman – Spencer Fane LLP; Jessica Nelson – Spencer Fane LLP; Randi Winter – Spencer Fane LLP; Kadee Anderson – Stinson LLP; Andrew Glasnovich – Stinson LLP; Daniel Dockery – Williams & Connolly LLP; Enu Mainigi – Williams & Connolly LLP;

Law Firms: Alston & Bird LLP; Berger Montague Pc; Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP; Faruqi & Faruqi LLP; Garwin Gerstein & Fisher LLP; Heim, Payne & Chorush LLP; Hogan Lovells; Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan; Silver, Golub & Teitell; Smith Segura & Raphael, LLP; Spencer Fane LLP; Stinson LLP; Williams & Connolly LLP;

Clients: Caremark Rx LLC ; Cvs Caremark; CVS Health Corporation; Dakota Drug Inc.; Express Scripts; Express Scripts Holding Company; Medco Health Solutions; Mylan Specialty L.P. ; Mylan, Inc.; Optum Inc. ; OptumRx Holdings, LLC; United Healthcare Services Inc.; UnitedHealth Group;

Martina Bellini

Author: Martina Bellini