GasLog’s Take Private Transaction

Cravath and Appleby represented GasLog, while Simpson Thacher represented BlackRock’s Global Energy & Power Infrastructure team (GEPIF) in the transaction.GEPIF will acquire all of the outstanding common shares of GasLog Ltd. that are not held by certain existing shareholders of GasLog for $5.80 per share in cash, including Blenheim Holdings Ltd., which is wholly owned by the Livanos family, and a wholly owned affiliate of the Onassis Foundation. Following the completion of the transaction, GEPIF will hold approximately 45% of GasLog’s common shares. The transaction is expected to close in the second quarter of 2021, subject to customary closing conditions.

GasLog is an international owner, operator and manager of LNG carriers providing support to international energy companies as part of their LNG logistics chain.

Cravath represented GasLog with a team led by partners Erik R. Tavzel (Picture) and Andrew C. Elken and included associates Jin-Kyu Baek and Victoria L. Romvary on M&A matters; partner D. Scott Bennett and associate David E. Jean-Baptiste on capital markets matters; partner Christopher K. Fargo and senior attorney Kiran Sheffrin on tax matters; partner Jennifer S. Conway and associates Sally Ye and Tiffany B. Wong on executive compensation and benefits matters; and partner Margaret T. Segall and associate Kolja I. Ortmann on regulatory matters. Danielle E. Walling also worked on capital markets matters and Sonia Katharani-Khan also worked on tax matters.

Applenby Bermuda acted as counsel to the Special Committee of Gaslog Ltd. with a team led by Partner Brad Adderley, and including Partners John Wasty and Matthew Ebbs-Brewer and Associate Riley O’Brien.

The Simpson Thacher team acting for GEPIF included Chris May, Jacqui Bogucki, Dustin Cooper and Sara Daniel (M&A); Andrew Blau, Harry Hudesman and Allison Sweeney (ECEB); Jason Hwang, Dylan Benac and Megan Bourassa (Credit); Marcy Geller, Tyler Robbins and Eli Shalam (Tax); Michael Isby (Environmental); and Lori Lesser (IP).

Involved fees earner: Brad Adderley – Appleby; Matthew Ebbs-Brewer – Appleby; Riley O’Brien – Appleby; John Wasty – Appleby; Jin-Kyu Baek – Cravath Swaine & Moore; Scott Bennett – Cravath Swaine & Moore; Jennifer Conway – Cravath Swaine & Moore; Margaret Segall D’Amico – Cravath Swaine & Moore; Andrew Elken – Cravath Swaine & Moore; Christopher K. Fargo – Cravath Swaine & Moore; David Jean?Baptiste – Cravath Swaine & Moore; Sonia Katharani-Khan – Cravath Swaine & Moore; Kolja Ortmann – Cravath Swaine & Moore; Victoria Romvary – Cravath Swaine & Moore; Kiran Sheffrin – Cravath Swaine & Moore; Erik Tavzel – Cravath Swaine & Moore; Sally Ye – Cravath Swaine & Moore; Tiffany Wong – Mayer Brown; Dylan Benac – Simpson Thacher & Bartlett; Andrew Blau – Simpson Thacher & Bartlett; Megan Bourassa – Simpson Thacher & Bartlett; Dustin Cooper – Simpson Thacher & Bartlett; Sara Daniel – Simpson Thacher & Bartlett; Marcy Geller – Simpson Thacher & Bartlett; Harry Hudesman – Simpson Thacher & Bartlett; Jason Hwang – Simpson Thacher & Bartlett; Michael Isby – Simpson Thacher & Bartlett; Jacqui Bogucki – Simpson Thacher & Bartlett; Lori Lesser – Simpson Thacher & Bartlett; Christopher May – Simpson Thacher & Bartlett; Tyler Robbins – Simpson Thacher & Bartlett; Eli Shalam – Simpson Thacher & Bartlett; Allison Sweeney – Simpson Thacher & Bartlett;

Law Firms: Appleby; Cravath Swaine & Moore; Mayer Brown; Simpson Thacher & Bartlett;

Clients: GasLog Ltd.; GasLog Ltd. – Special Committee; Global Energy & Power Infrastructure (GEPIF);

Martina Bellini

Author: Martina Bellini