Dr. August Oetker KG’s Acquisition of Flaschenpost SE

Hengeler Mueller advised Dr. August Oetker KG on the deal. Herbert Smith Freehills, Pusch Wahlig and Schnittker Möllmann Partners advised Flaschenpost SE. Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer advised the shareholders of Flaschenpost, while Beiten Burkhardt advised the founder of Flaschenpost. Gleiss Lutz advised Tiger Global.

Dr. August Oetker KG has agreed to acquire the online beverage delivery service flaschenpost SE for €1 billion.

With the planned acquisition of flaschenpost SE, the Dr. August Oetker KG is expanding the range of its online beverage delivery service Durstexpress GmbH, which belongs to the Radeberger Group. While Durstexpress developed its activities primarily from Berlin and the eastern provinces, flaschenpost SE did so from North Rhine-Westphalia. The expanded company is managed by a management board consisting of members of the management board of flaschenpost SE as well as the management of Durst- express GmbH. The management board reports to a newly established supervisory board, which will be formed in the coming weeks.

In several financing rounds, the founder collected a total of around 70 million euros. Most recently, a total of 31 shareholders were involved in Flaschenpost, including Cherry Ventures, Vorwerk Ventures, Movendo Capital and Brightfolk. In a final round of financing, the New York venture capitalist Tiger Global was added. In this context, the portal, deutsche-startups.de ichtete reported a company valuation of 272.8 million euros.

flaschenpost is Germany’s first instant beverage delivery service. flaschenpost was founded in 2016 by a team consisting of Dieter Büchl, Stephen Weich, Niklas Plath and Christopher Huesmann. In the meantime, flaschenpost supplies from 23 warehouse locations from around 150 cities in Germany. The delivery of beverages can be planned by each customer within 120 minutes after the order has been placed. The fast delivery is made possible by an IT system that combines the orders into intelligently planned tours and prepares them automatically in the warehouse.

With around 34,000 employees and yearly sales revenue of EUR 7.4 billion, the Oetker Group is one of the largest family-run businesses in Germany. A broad diversification in five business divisions characterizes the internationally operating company, which looks back on a history spanning more than 129 years. Dr August Oetker KG operates as a holding company. The Company, through its subsidiaries, manufactures food products, alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages, and chemicals. Dr August Oetker offers shipping, banking, publishing, and hospitality services worldwide.

Tiger Global is a venture capital and private equity investment company focusing on investments in the internet and technology industries.

The Hengeler Mueller team was led by Martin Ulbrich (Picture) and Thomas Meurer and included Maximilian Schiessl, Oliver Rieckers, Dirk Uwer, Thorsten Mäger, Matthias Scheifele, Nikolaus Vieten, Christian Hoefs, Gunther Wagner, Peter Dampf, Patrick Wilkening, David Annussek, Eric Becker, Maxi Ludwig, Tobias Schneiders, Malcolm Tiffin-Richards, Norman Koschmieder, Thomas Ruthemeyer, Sebastian Adam, Marius Mayer, Georg Tauser, Patrick Schmidt and Jan Krusche, with assistance from Oetker inhouse’s team, led by Dr. Volker Nienaber.

The Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer team included Dr. Arend von Riegen, Dr. Frank Röhling, Dr. David Beutel, Dr. Mario Hüther, Dr. Hendrik Braun, Dr. Maren Tamke, Dr. Olga Stürmer, Dr. Ferdinand Dreher, Laura Frühauf, Dr. Florian Sippel, Dr. Anna Dominke, Maximilian Mosch, Dr. Philipp Lehmann, Lasse Petersen, Dr. Martin Rehberg, Yara Bevaart and Dr. Dennis Chinnow.

The Herbert Smith Freehills team consisted of Dr. Sönke Becker, Dr. Christian Johnen and Dr. Nikolaus Moench.

The Pusch Wahlig team included Dr. Tobias Pusch and Eckbert Müller.

The SMP Law team was led by Dr. Matthias Schatz and Dr. Benjamin Ullrich, together with Dr. Malte Bergmann, Dr. Sebastian Schödel and Dr. Christoph Lüttenberg and with assistance from Flaschenpost’s inhouse team, led by Jürgen Gratzki and Dr. Mario Pälicke.

The Beiten Burkhardt team included Angelika Kapfer, Dr. Christian Philipp Kalusa, Dr. André Depping and Dr. Florian Weichselgärtner.

The Gleiss Lutz was led by Dr. Ralf Morshäuser and included Dr. Johann Wagner, Dr. Christian Steinle, Dr. Tobias Falkner, Dr. Moritz Riesener and Melina Grauschopf.

Involved fees earner: André Depping – Beiten Burkhardt; Christian Kalusa – Beiten Burkhardt; Angelika Kapfer – Beiten Burkhardt; Florian Weichselgärtner – Beiten Burkhardt; David Beutel – Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP; Yara Bevaart – Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP; Hendrik Braun – Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP; Dennis Chinnow – Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP; Anna Dominke – Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP; Ferdinand Dreher – Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP; Laura Frühauf – Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP; Mario Hüther – Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP; Philipp Lehmann – Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP; Maximilian Mosch – Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP; Lasse Petersen – Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP; Martin Rehberg – Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP; Frank Röhling – Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP; Florian Sippel – Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP; Olga Stürmer – Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP; Maren Tamke – Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP; Arend von Riegen – Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP; Tobias Falkner – Gleiss Lutz; Melina Grauschopf – Gleiss Lutz; Ralf Morshäuser – Gleiss Lutz; Moritz Riesener – Gleiss Lutz; Christian Steinle – Gleiss Lutz; Johann Wagner – Gleiss Lutz; Sebastian Adam – Hengeler Mueller; David Annussek – Hengeler Mueller; Eric Becker – Hengeler Mueller; Peter Dampf – Hengeler Mueller; Christian Hoefs – Hengeler Mueller; Norman Koschmieder – Hengeler Mueller; Jan Michael Krusche – Hengeler Mueller; Maxi Ludwig – Hengeler Mueller; Thorsten Mäger – Hengeler Mueller; Marius Mayer – Hengeler Mueller; Thomas Meurer – Hengeler Mueller; Oliver Rieckers – Hengeler Mueller; Thomas Ruthemeyer – Hengeler Mueller; Matthias Scheifele – Hengeler Mueller; Maximilian Schiessl – Hengeler Mueller; Patrick Schmidt – Hengeler Mueller; Tobias Schneiders – Hengeler Mueller; Georg Tauser – Hengeler Mueller; Malcolm Tiffin-Richards – Hengeler Mueller; Martin Ulbrich – Hengeler Mueller; Dirk Uwer – Hengeler Mueller; Nikolaus Vieten – Hengeler Mueller; Gunther Wagner – Hengeler Mueller; Patrick Wilkening – Hengeler Mueller; Sönke Becker – Herbert Smith Freehills; Christian Johnen – Herbert Smith Freehills; Nikolaus Moench – Herbert Smith Freehills; Eckbert Müller – Pusch Wahlig; Tobias Pusch – Pusch Wahlig; Malte Bergmann – Schnittker Möllmann Partners; Christoph Lüttenberg – Schnittker Möllmann Partners; Matthias Schatz – Schnittker Möllmann Partners; Sebastian Schödel – Schnittker Möllmann Partners; Benjamin Ullrich – Schnittker Möllmann Partners;

Law Firms: Beiten Burkhardt; Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP; Gleiss Lutz; Hengeler Mueller; Herbert Smith Freehills; Pusch Wahlig; Schnittker Möllmann Partners;

Clients: Cherry Ventures Management GmbH; Dieter Büchl; Dr August Oetker KG; Flaschenpost SE; Tiger Global Management; Vorwerk Direct Selling Ventures GmbH;

Print Friendly, PDF & Email