Creditas’ $231 Million Series D Funding Round

Simpson Thacher represented Creditas Financial Solutions, Ltd. in its $231 million Series D funding round, which is primarily being led by SoftBank Vision Fund and SoftBank Group Corp. Morrison & Foerster, Demarest, Pinheiro Neto also advised on the transaction

The stake of the latter in Creditas is expected to be transferred to SoftBank’s newly created SoftBank Latin America Fund. Vostok Emerging Finance, Santander InnoVentures and Amadeus Capital, which are already current investors in Creditas, are also participating in the round. The round values Creditas at $750 million.

Creditas is a financial technology company that operates a digital platform offering secured consumer loans. It uses credit scoring systems and borrowers’ assets, such as homes and automobiles, as collateral to offer loans.

The Simpson Thacher team includes Naveed Anwar (Picture) and Atif Azher (M&A); David Rubinsky and Erin Murphy (ECEB); Katharine Moir and Brian Mendick (Tax); and Marcela Robledo (IP).

Morrison & Foerster advised SoftBank Group Corp. with Timothy J. Harris, Bernie J. Pistillo, Matthew Lau, Julie O’Neill, Joy S. MacIntyre, Jim Ryan, Stella Shin, Jennifer Ta, Amber Harezlak, Lauren Keller, Katherine Suzuki and Aniek Schadd.

Demarest advised SB Investment Advisers (UK) (SoftBank) with Paulo Frank Coelho da Rocha, Fabio de Almeida Braga, Nuno Faria, Natália Alves Graton and Murilo Corrêa de Godoy Domene.

Pinheiro Neto advised Creditas Financial Solutions, LTD, Creditas Financial Solutions, LLC, Creditas Soluções Financeiras Ltda. and Creditas Sociedade de Crédito S.A. with Bruno Balduccini and Raphael Palmieri Salomão.

Involved fees earner: Natalia Alves Graton – Demarest; Paulo Coelho da Rocha – Demarest; Murilo Corrêa de Godoy Domene – Demarest; Fabio de Almeida Braga – Demarest; Nuno Faria – Demarest; Amber Harezlak – Morrison Foerster; Timothy Harris – Morrison Foerster; Lauren Keller – Morrison Foerster; Matthew Lau – Morrison Foerster; Joy MacIntyre – Morrison Foerster; Julie O’Neill – Morrison Foerster; Bernie Pistillo – Morrison Foerster; Jennifer Ruth Ta – Morrison Foerster; Jim Ryan – Morrison Foerster; Aniek Schadd – Morrison Foerster; Katherine Suzuki – Morrison Foerster; Bruno Balduccini – Pinheiro Neto; Raphael Palmieri Salomao – Pinheiro Neto; Naveed Anwar – Simpson Thacher & Bartlett; Atif Azher – Simpson Thacher & Bartlett; Brian Mendick – Simpson Thacher & Bartlett; Katharine Moir – Simpson Thacher & Bartlett; Erin Murphy – Simpson Thacher & Bartlett; Marcela Robledo – Simpson Thacher & Bartlett; David Rubinsky – Simpson Thacher & Bartlett;

Law Firms: Demarest; Morrison Foerster; Pinheiro Neto; Simpson Thacher & Bartlett;

Clients: Creditas Financial Solutions, Ltd; Softbank Corp.; SoftBank Investment Advisers ;

Author: Ambrogio Visconti