The Jordan Company’s Acquisition of Specialty Building Products

Winston & Strawn represented The Jordan Company in the transaction, while Kirkland & Ellis LLP represented Specialty Building Products and MDP.

The Jordan Company, L.P. (“TJC”) executed the acquisition of a majority stake in Specialty Building Products, LLC (“Company” or “SBP”), a leading distributor of specialty building products in North America, from funds affiliated with Madison Dearborn Partners, LLC (“MDP”). Terms of the transaction were not disclosed.

SBP’s senior management team, including President and CEO Jeff McLendon, will maintain a significant equity stake in SBP and continue to lead the Company through its next phase of growth. Based in Duluth, Georgia, SBP’s operating brands are U.S. LUMBER, Alexandria Moulding, Midwest Lumber and Mid-State Lumber.

Madison Dearborn Partners, LLC (“MDP”) is a leading private equity investment firm based in Chicago. Since MDP’s formation in 1992, the firm has raised aggregate capital of over $26 billion and has completed over 150 investments.

Founded in 1982, TJC is a middle-market private equity firm headquartered in New York, New York, that has managed funds with original capital commitments in excess of $13 billion since 1987 and a 38-year track record of investing in and contributing to the growth of many businesses across a wide range of industries.

Winston & Strawn represented The Jordan Company with a team including Matthew D. Costigan (Picture), Bryant Everett Gardner, Donald E. Goff, Jr., Nicholas J. Golem, J. Eric Johnson, R. Cabell Morris, Monique Ngo-Bonnici, Conor A. Reidy, David A. Sakowitz, Stephanie B. Sebor, Alessandra V. Swanson, Jordan S. Traister, Becky L. Troutman, Louis J. Weber, Theresa M. Barton, Shawn D. Batten, Patrick D. Boyle, Madalyn G. Brown, Jessica A. Diedrich, Joseph H. Dimont, Oren Fishman, Alexandra Forte, Luke P. Haller, Anne D. Hartmann, Patrick E. Hogan, August E. Huelle, José Andres Jaime, Emily N Kath, Kristan Q. Laden, Blaise Latella, Kristi A. Mankowske, Zak Morozov, Brett C. Mueller, John P. Niedzwiecki, Eric J. Shinabarger, Amanda Simpson, Allison N. Skopec, Ben D. Smolij, and Charles G. Vargo.

Involved fees earner: Theresa Barton – Winston & Strawn; Shawn Batten – Winston & Strawn; Patrick Boyle – Winston & Strawn; Madalyn Brown – Winston & Strawn; Matthew Costigan – Winston & Strawn; Jessica Diedrich – Winston & Strawn; Joseph Dimont – Winston & Strawn; Oren Fishman – Winston & Strawn; Alexandra Forte – Winston & Strawn; Bryant Gardner – Winston & Strawn; Donald Goff – Winston & Strawn; Nicholas Golem – Winston & Strawn; Luke Haller – Winston & Strawn; Anne Hartmann – Winston & Strawn; Patrick Hogan – Winston & Strawn; August Huelle – Winston & Strawn; José Andres Jaime – Winston & Strawn; J. Eric Johnson – Winston & Strawn; Emily Kath – Winston & Strawn; Kristan Laden – Winston & Strawn; Blaise Latella – Winston & Strawn; Kristi Mankowske – Winston & Strawn; Zak Morozov – Winston & Strawn; Cabell Morris – Winston & Strawn; Brett Mueller – Winston & Strawn; Monique Ngo-Bonnici – Winston & Strawn; John Niedzwiecki – Winston & Strawn; Conor Reidy – Winston & Strawn; David Sakowitz – Winston & Strawn; Stephanie Sebor – Winston & Strawn; Eric Shinabarger – Winston & Strawn; Amanda Simpson – Winston & Strawn; Allison Skopec – Winston & Strawn; Ben Smolij – Winston & Strawn; Alessandra Swanson – Winston & Strawn; Jordan Traister – Winston & Strawn; Becky Troutman – Winston & Strawn; Charles Vargo – Winston & Strawn; Louis Weber – Winston & Strawn;

Law Firms: Winston & Strawn;

Clients: The Jordan Company (TJC);

Author: Ambrogio Visconti